cannot keep You, cannot contain You (Gungor)


I’ll let this beautiful gungor song speak for itself… A lot of Truth in there, and the music is quite beautiful too… He can use words better in this song than I could in a blogpost or even a book I’m affraid!

Gungor – Cannot Keep You

They tried to keep you in a tent
They could not keep you in a temple
Or any of their idols, to see and understand

We cannot keep you in a church
We cannot keep you in a Bible
Or it’s just another idol to box you in

They could not keep you in their walls
We cannot keep you in ours either
For you are so much greater

Who is like the Lord
The maker of the heavens
Who dwells with the poor
He lifts them from the ashes
And He seats them among princes
Who is like the Lord

We’ve tried to keep you in our tents
We’ve tried to keep you in our temples
We’ve worshiped all our idols
We want all that to end

So we will find you in the streets
And we will find you in the prisons
And even in our Bibles and churches

Who is like the Lord
The maker of the heavens
Who dwells with the poor
He lifts them from the ashes
And He seats them among princes
Who is like the Lord

We cannot contain, cannot contain
The glory of your name
We cannot contain, cannot contain
The glory of your name

We cannot contain, cannot contain
The glory of your name

Who is like the Lord
You took me from the ashes
And you healed me from my blindness
Who is like the Lord

(Their album ‘beautiful things’ can be bought here, do it and you won’t regret it. The new one ‘ghosts upon the earth’ is also very impressive!)

What do you think?

Shalom

Bram

3 responses to “cannot keep You, cannot contain You (Gungor)

  1. Wow. This song is beautiful.

    I’d like John Piper to hear it, in light of what the blogosphere’s been discussing lately. Especially this line: “We cannot keep You in a church, we cannot keep You in a Bible or it’s just another idol to box You in.”

    • I’m afraid that Piper would just disagree with the theology behind the song… But I doubt he can deny that it’s a very beautiful one… And that’s a very strong line indeed, but a lot of people are not going to like that idea…

      (this isn’t the first gungor song I’ve posted. “When death dies” is also beautiful both musically and theologically, and “God is not a white man” is just unique, and when I saw that video for the first time I knew it was a classic..

  2. Great point, re: Piper!

    I am actually a pretty big fan of the Gungor songs I’ve heard! I’d heard God is Not a white Man before, and it is fabulous. I hadn’t heard Cannot Keep You or When Death Dies until today, though. So glad you shared them.

Leave a Reply

