musical interlude: She = like meeting Jesus (Zita Swoon)


This musical interlude is a nineties oldie from one of the more weird Belgian bands, the good special bands like Antwerp used to have in the good old days… Zita Swoon, currently renamed as ‘Zita Swoon group’, and at moments mostly a project of Stef Kamil Carlens, had some minor hits in over the years, and a big fanbase in more alternative corners. This song is the first song of the ‘I paint pictures on a wedding dress’ album (1998). In spite of the reference to Jesus in the title, it is not a Christian band at all, but I like the spiritual content of the bridge and the last verse in this song.

Maybe some people find the music quite weird, and indeed I can’t deny that some songs on the album (including this one) are overproduced in a not very commercial way… But there are some really strong songs on this album. (The biggest hit was ‘my bond with you and your planet: disco‘, but my favorite song is ‘our daily reminders‘, one of my favorite Belgian rocksongs from the nineties, which was good decade for rock in Antwerp…

She = like meeting Jesus (Zita Swoon)

Once I was mistaken for a different fool
And I could never tell If they were wrong or true
Until now
I see the light shining in my home
A better man in me is born
I know now that I can cope the storm

She walks /  My room in
I am on my own / We are greeting
She talks / I am heeding
What she´s shown / Is truth

The jailman says I am caught
Between the lies & the races
But the key to the cell he guards
Is in the hand of my saviour

She walks /  My room in
I am on my own / We are greeting
She talks / I am heeding
What she´s shown / Is truth

Oh my lord I must admit
I do not know how to live my life
I am trapped inside its mystery
I am tangled up in its delight
The warnings you´ve given
And the choices that you did provide
Make complicated situations
How can we tell what´s wrong or right?
Can´t you offer some assistance?
Can´t you clue on what to do?
I lost my lust for life
And now I am slowly loosing faith in you

She walks /  My room in
I am on my own / We are greeting
She talks / I am heeding
What she´s shown / Is truth

The lord says listen boy
Come see the lines on my faces
You are thinking I am too old
To see what is going on
But I know your story

She walks /  My room in
I am on my own / We are greeting
She talks / I am heeding
What she´s shown / Is truth

enjoy

Bram

Leave a Reply

