Blessed are the persecuted, do we get that?


I won’t pretend to understand a thing about the American chicken sandwich wars, and I fail to see real serious persecution of Christians (as exists in a lot of places of the planet!) in any of it,but to those who are truly persecuted for their faith in Christ I have these verses:

Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to them
Blessed are you when people insult you and persecute you and say all kinds of evil things about you falsely on account of me.
Rejoice and be glad because your reward is great in heaven, for they persecuted the prophets before you in the same way.

(Mat 5:10-12)

I know I’m not there either, and neither do I know real persecution¬† like some of our fellow believers do (which includes torture and death sometimes) but I pray for the Spirit to lead me towards the path of self-giving, not self-seeking, and to shine the Light, even if the darkness reacts strongly against it… So that when I encounter the clash between the Kingdom and the Powers that be, that I know that I’m with Christ, the one who gave Himself, even if it cost Him His life…

Shalom

Bram

3 responses to “Blessed are the persecuted, do we get that?

  1. LOL@ Chicken sandwich wars. Thanks for your perspective, it’s refreshing. My personal opinion is Chick Fil A doesn’t represent Christianity, but Christian-ism. This is why I don’t support their standpoint. I don’t persecute them for it… I don’t boycott them (I just don’t eat there, I didn’t eat there before all this happened.) But I will stand up for what I believe in, and I feel they are a misrepresentation of what a true Christian should be. Just my honest opinion. Enjoyed your post.

    • Thanks for the positive feedback. Your country can be confusing for an outsider, but I agree with what you say here… Thanks!

  2. even if you don’t eat there you might just go in a ask for a free cup of water. When you say thanks, you’ll hear “my pleasure”. they probably do the best job of any company at trying to display true agape a Christian love (in the Mother Theresa sense) with a diverse staff to all who come in their doors, with the goal being to minister to all those who enter, regardless of their beliefs or baggage. The controversy was spawned and executed outside the restaurants. Some tried to take it inside but were probably dismayed by the warmth and inclusiveness they received – a prejudice is a hard thing to have to give up.

Leave a Reply

