The top-5 of most-read posts here in 2014


DSCF0083A new year, a new beginning… And a time to reflect on what I’m doing in different areas of my life.

When it comes to this blog 2014 probably wasn’t my most productive year because a lot of other things took more time and energy. I did still manage to write 40 posts on a lot of subjects, including a series of meditations on 1 Corinthians 13 that isn’t finished yet.

I had planned 2014 to be a year in which I would lessen the influence of American Evangelicalism on my faith, and try to demodernise myself a bit while trying to find my way back as a human being, as a thinker and as a believer. All of that is just work in progress and I’m only still scratching the surface of trying to get somewhere, but I do suppose that I did take some steps and explored some new directions.
The most unexpected new direction (which might have cost me some readers) is probably that in letting go of the influence of modernist naturalism I explored the supernatural in new ways and ended up in new and unconventional ‘occult’ territory. I never believed in materialist scienctism anyway as a Charismatic Christian, but I have let it influence me way too much in the past years, which wasn’t very healthy for my faith. The exploration of the supernatural in different ways and interreligous dialogue with modern pagans that I had elsewhere on the internet led to my invention of the word ‘occultmergent‘ (first as a joke), which even turned into a Fb-group. And it may have made me be the first evangelical blogger to mention chaos magic

So let’s have a look now at the top-5 of most-read posts on Brambonius in English in 2014:

My top-five of most-viewed posts in 2014:

1.  on Ishtar, myopic Anglocentrism and sloppy ‘scepticism’…
My first post ever that went semi-viral and thus my most-viewed post in 2014 was a reaction a very sloppy meme that originated from the Richard Dawkins society. I do expect more from ‘sceptics’ than this kind of rubbish…

2. A prayer in C to an absent God (Lilly Wood and the Prick)
Pop culture does seem to get me a lot of readers too, so my second-most viewed post this year was my analysis of the song ‘prayer in C’ by Lilly wood and the Prick, which is one of the big hits of this fall (in a dance remix). The lyrics can be seen a dark prayer to a powerless God who doesn’t do anything to keep this world from ending and will not be able to forgive itself when everything  has ended.

3. Our nonmagical modern world as the biggest magical trick ever…
For the third post we go to my weird theoretical explorations of the supernatural far outside the usual box, with an exploration of the idea that the world is much more magical than we moderns want it to be, but that this wish for a non-supernatural world itself s what gave us this current world devoid of a magic as we know it.

4. Stop being influenced by America?
The only older post in the top-five, from 2013. I have no clue why so much people were interested in my reasons to shake off the influence of the US on my faith, but maybe it’s jest because the map I used to illustrate this post was quite high-ranked in google pictures searches for a while…

 5. Some thoughts on the myth that ‘men are visual’
And with this fourth post we’re back in one of my more usual territories on this blog: combatting sexism from a Christian viewpoint…

If I had to chose my best posts of 2014 the list would’ve been completely different, but that’s for another time

Which ones did you like best?

peace

Bram

One response to “The top-5 of most-read posts here in 2014

  1. Pingback: 2015: Looking forward, looking back.. | Brambonius' blog in english

Leave a Reply

